RSS

Filler post!

26 Aug

Because he likes Sunny Day but certainly isn’t going to be reading Secrets Of A Royal Guard anytime soon. Here’s the best Sunny Day scene from that story for PresentPerfect. Where she’s been left in charge of all the royal guards in the palace for a while. All of them, from the basic Royal Guards to both personal sets of guards for Luna and Celestia. Spoilers, but nothing major or really anything you can figure out unless you’ve already read the story up to that point.

The palace, thankfully, was still in one piece when I got back. Not that I thought Sunny would have a problem running it a few days until Major Aegis or Captain Dancer returned. I rounded the corner and knocked on Sunny’s open door.

The inside was pure chaos. Sunny’s desk was covered in stacks of paper, reports, and discarded take out containers. So was her floor actually. Storm Rider was on the couch with a report in each hoof, his helmet off, and looking red eyed.

Sunny’s head was down, also with no helmet, and her mane was a wreck. She finally looked up and then smiled brightly… or manically. It was hard to know.

“Silent Knight! Thank the stars you’re back. I need you right now,” she said, coming out from behind her desk.

That was certainly not the greeting I expected. It would have been better received from Crystal. “Hello to you too…” I reported.

The mare hugged me and leaned in close to whisper. “It’s a conspiracy you see. It is all a conspiracy to drive us crazy.”

Storm Rider nodded sagely at that.

“What is?” I asked.

“Major Aegis? Still sick! Took a turn for the worst they say. Months of recovery. So they handed the palace over to Captain Dancer.”

Storm Rider snorted.

“Captain Dancer, on his first day back, tripped and fell down the stairs. He broke two legs.”

“Allegedly!” Storm Rider spoke up.

“Allegedly!” Sunny repeated.

“He allegedly fell and broke his legs?” I asked in disbelief.

Sunny said, “I think they don’t WANT to come back. No, they just want me to handle it all.”

I peered into Sunny’s eyes. She looked a bit unhinged. “Why don’t you go talk to Vice Colo—”

She cut me off, “Vice Colonel Glamour? She says we’re doing a wonderful job and that this is how to make captain! Who wants to make captain! I’m so glad you’re back. I have things for you to do. So many things.”

“So many things,” Storm Rider parroted.

I peered between the two crazy ponies but nodded. This was definitely the wrong time to mention I might be taking a new job. “Alright… well, I’m free until I have to pick up Princess Luna. What do you want done first?”

Sunny rushed back to the desk, grabbed a report, and then threw it to me. “Dragons!”

“Dragons?” I asked.

“Yes, dragons. Get rid of them. The locals won’t leave me alone about them. Get rid of the dragons, Silent Knight!”

“Get rid of dragons? Are you serious?”

The look on her face said she was. She was also twitching a lot.

I held onto the report and took two steps towards the door. “Okay Sunny… I’ll go get rid of the dragons. Bye bye.”

I could always tell her I was getting married later… much later. Possibly after she’d been committed.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2016 in Ponies

 

2 responses to “Filler post!

  1. Present Perfect

    August 26, 2016 at 10:07 pm

    For me? Aww, you shouldn’t have. 😀

    Reading this was amusing, but also tells me I don’t want to read any more stories in this continuity.

     
    • Griffin

      August 26, 2016 at 10:09 pm

      Just thought you’d like sleep deprived Sunny amusement. I’d still recommend you give the Azurite stories a try at some point, but not a huge recommendation. I certainly don’t have any intention of reading any more of the main continuity of the AU.

       

Leave a Reply

