RSS

Pony Stories #… Um, something in the 600s I think?

08 Oct

Whoo. Pulling up out of the depression. Apparently actually eating something during the day helps one to not be crushingly apathetic. Who knew? (Except for everyone, duh). So let’s catch up on some ponyfic reviews shall we? Well, one anyway. I haven’t been reading that much ponywords lately.

  • About Last Night by Darth Link 22

About Last Night by Darth Link 22

I’d describe this story as uneven. There were a few really good bits, and a few terribly cliche parts. Author needs a bit more practice to smooth that up and down out methinks. Still, you could do worse for Twilight and Applejack shipping. Plus it did have the perfect Rainbow Dash description of why Twilight Sparkle and Applejack work as a couple. Yes, what bookplayer takes several paragraphs to explain, Rainbow Dash can do in just one sentence! Is there anything the blue pony can’t do?

“Well…” she took a few more deep breaths, remembering Cadance’s calming techniques. “What makes you think I’m Applejack’s best friend? We don’t have a lot in common.”

Rainbow Dash lifted an eyebrow. “Are you kidding? You two are both total buzzkills.”

Twilight looked offended. “We are not!”

“Oh please. You’re all always, ‘we need to get back on track’, ‘stop bickering and fighting’, ‘Rainbow Dash, put me down and stop flying so fast’.” Her voice took on a mocking, high-pitched tone. “It’s annoying.”

“I don’t sound anything like that,” Twilight said indignantly.

And of course I can’t help but think Rainbow Dash with Twilight’s hairstyle during the impression bit. That is one of the sillier aspects of Rainbow’s character that I kind of love.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories #… Um, something in the 600s I think?

  1. Aragón

    October 8, 2016 at 9:21 pm

    “Apparently actually eating something during the day helps one to not be crushingly apathetic. Who knew? (Except for everyone, duh).”

    Hey, don’t be so sure! I’ve spent entire days without eating because I just forgot to do so. Be it because of apathy or because I was busy. So, been there, man.

    Glad that you’re getting better, by the way. Whenever I’m getting depressed I tend to kick myself until I start doing things again, which usually helps — write, read, whatever. Do stuff you yourself consider productive. Works wonders, yo.

    So yeah, cheer on and shit. And don’t forget to eat. It’s stupidly easy to do so, but turns out it’s bad. Who would’ve thought, fucking crazy.

     
    • Griffin

      October 9, 2016 at 2:09 am

      Yeah, dang chemical addictions. If I didn’t have to eat or sleep I’d be a much more productive person! Thanks for the good vibes sent my way.

       
  2. Pascoite Fics

    October 10, 2016 at 10:37 am

    Glad to see you back in action! It’s been so long since you posted anything, much less anything pony.

     
    • Griffin

      October 10, 2016 at 4:36 pm

      Thanks. Nice to be back in a semi-productive mood on this end as well.

       

Leave a Reply

