RSS

Pony Stories 669

03 Nov

Hm. I had something I wanted to put in here but I did the actual reviews below first and now I can’t remember what it was. I suppose I could do the bit about a silent movie marathon I saw two weeks ago but I was saving that for tomorrow. So you’ll just have to wait.

  • Cant by Rambling Writer
  • You Can’t Always Get What You Want by bookplayer

Cant by Rambling Writer
Okay, I really liked this story. Lovecraft light. Sort of. Hard to precisely categorize it. It does deal with how I think cosmic horror stuff should actually work. Like, Lovecraft did cosmic horror as everything was bad and trying to learn or do things outside of human experience always lead to madness and death. Something I strongly disagree with, as many would guess given my FimFiction name and previous comments about my religion being Transhumanism. Anyway, this is a much better look at the same kind of thing. At least on a lighter side. Twilight Sparkle deals with something (in this case perfectly precise writing in a book) and is changed by the experience. Not in a terrible way, just in that she came up against an absolute and can no longer view the world in the same way as the rest of the world. I also really like the idea of a book of eldritch knowledge that doesn’t actually hold any forbidden knowledge and is kind of a laughing stock among the scholars who study such things.

You Can’t Always Get What You Want by bookplayer

This is another good example of a short story that I want to keep going. I would totally read a much longer Sunset Shimmer redemption story that starts with her moving in with Zecora. As you can tell, I enjoyed this. Was pretty nifty even if the constant rhyming did get a little odd to read. Which was kind of the point? I mean Sunset Shimmer gets a bit weirded out by it and so it makes sense the reader does as well. It’s not annoying or anything. Just not how people are supposed to talk. Anyway, it’s a bookplayer story that has nothing to do with romance but is still good. Not that her non-romance stories aren’t usually good mind you. Just that she’s got a particular genre that makes up a lot of her body of work.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

