RSS

Pony Stories 673

14 Nov

Semi-recently I played a computer game called Endless Sky. Which is a spiritual descendant of the old Escape Velocity games. Open-ended space exploration and trading type deal. Start out with a small shuttle and work your way up to bigger and better things. Endless sky is semi-new, only about a year old at this point I believe, and open-source. So there isn’t a whole lot of actual content. Yet there is a good game there anyway as long as you don’t mind not having a plot to follow. I get nearly two weeks of enjoyment out of just being a independent ship captain. Trading, carrying passengers, fighting the occasional pirate, earning enough money to pay off the loans I took out to buy the next bigger ship. So I’d highly recommend it to anyone. More recently I’ve been playing another free game called… Nah, not going to name it. It is a text based game (not text-commands, has menus and colors and point-and-click interface. Just no graphics or anything) where you play as the biggest shareholder of a arcology in a drifting towards post-apocalypse world. Has plenty of sexual content, which is why I’m not going to be too specific. Just mention it because it is also a no-combat no-plot sort of thing. Just working on resource management, mostly in the realm of money and investments. Which I’ve been enjoying for several days now. I really like logistical and resource-management stuff. Nothing too complicated though. I’ve tried the stuff that tries to simulate a real economy and didn’t like it much. Still, was an interesting window into my game tastes with two such sharply defined experiences back to back (mostly).

Now, I could review these one by one. I decided not to since there isn’t a whole lot to say about each one. Fluffy and I enjoyed it, but very fluffy. If like like Twilight Sparkle and Rarity shipping you’ll like these. I think all of them do a good job capturing what makes the pair so fun to read about. Hmm… Might not have a lot to say about all of them put together. I like that the setup of the AU emphasizes the strengths of the pair as a shipping set. By making Rarity a queen and Twilight her highly-trained commoner bodyguard it does a great job emphasizing both ponies basic personality and how they bounce off each other. Rarity gets to be all dramatic and in-charge, Twilight gets to be highly focused and rationally grounded.

Oh, and the list up above is not in any particular order. Not that it really matters, but some of the stories do happen after others.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

