RSS

Pony Stories 677

20 Nov

So, started a new game of XCOM2. Let’s see how long the ponies and FimFiction personalities can do against the alien hordes. I realized something while thinking about the game. I love the gameplay, XCOM2 fixed just about every problem I had with the previous XCOM game. Yet I miss the actual game. I liked having a base and defending the planet from invaders rather than being a resistance movement. I just liked the original situation better I guess. In related news, I recently read Stardust again. It’s one of the most re-readable stories around in my opinion. I’ve practically memorized it, yet the first two-thirds of it are a very enjoyable read. The last third is still good, just still don’t like it as much. Hope the sequel gets finished soon.

  • Twilight Sparkle Lays An Egg by Georg
  • Sweet Apple Biohazard by Pineta
  • The Patient by Dafaddah

Twilight Sparkle Lays An Egg by Georg

One of the better Spike stories I’ve run across. Even if he’s not the primary focus, it was a nice depiction of more mature aspect of his character. This author continues to be one of my favorites, and this story is certainly not his best but certainly falls in the above average category for stories in general.

Sweet Apple Biohazard by Pineta

The last line is what makes the story, in my opinion. Otherwise, not a bad story all together. I love the idea that Agent Bonbon ends all conversations with ‘I have to go find a crowd to blend into’ and then grappling-hook rope out a window.

The Patient by Dafaddah

A decent-to-good Friendship is Optimal story. It has all the hallmarks of a good one, except for the fact that CelestAI is barely there. She shows up three times, each for just a few moments and a line or two of dialogue. There really isn’t any feel that she is shaping events at all. What I mean is that you could remove her and this would be a character arc for the viewpoint character. Like a normal narrative character arc, not the enforced fulfilling values manipulation of CelestAI. Given that one of the cornerstones of the Friendship is Optimal setting is the manipulation of a inhumanly intelligent AI and whether or not the goal she is enforcing is a good one. So to remove that or make it more or less non-existent is a weakness.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 677

  1. Present Perfect

    November 20, 2016 at 9:38 am

    That second one sounds hilarious. 😀

     
    • Griffin

      November 20, 2016 at 9:12 pm

      Well, mostly? Assuming you have a bit of a sense of dark humor.

       
    • Griffin

      November 20, 2016 at 9:44 pm

      I mean, I only commented on two funny lines compared to the entire story which isn’t all that comedic. It’s more like if you think too much about it it either becomes funny or tragic, but taken on it’s own it is just kind of bland.

       

Leave a Reply

