RSS

Pony Stories 692

06 Dec

I’ve been playing The Witcher games for the last week or so. Got all three on Steam because of one of their sales. The twist is that I’m actually playing them! I know, buying a game on Steam and playing it? Crazy. Anyway, finished the first one and a good amount of the way through the second. At this point I have to say I liked the first one better. It had a lot of stuff that I had to get used to, different conventions than most computer games of that genre, but now that I’m on the second one and it is closer to standard computer role-playing game I miss the stuff from the first one. The bit that is throwing me off the most? The Witcher 2 has no cursor or target for selecting things in the game world. No easily identified point of focus. I wouldn’t have though I would miss it much, but man it took a while to get used to even a little. You just activate things by getting near them for the most part. Guh. I wonder what Witcher 3 will have in differences. Apparently it’s the really good one so I’m looking forward to it.

  • Freeport Venture: Trust Issues by Ponibius
  • Freeport Venture: A Thousand Masks by Chengar Qordath
  • Freeport Venture: Blood and Iron by Chengar Qordath

Freeport Venture: Trust Issues by Ponibius

Eh, pretty good. I do like Puzzle Piece as a character so a whole story about him wouldn’t be terrible to read. The downside is that this story had no tension and pretty much everything was exposition of one type or another. Recommended only for huge fans of the character or if you really need another Freeport story to read. Anyone else can skip it and not miss much.

Freeport Venture: A Thousand Masks by Chengar Qordath

Good fantasy/adventure in the same vein as the rest of the Freeport stories. The description is a bit deceptive in my opinion, but not terribly so. I didn’t find anything ‘more than meets the eye’ in the story. Still a fun read though.

Freeport Venture: Blood and Iron by Chengar Qordath

I really liked this one. It isn’t a huge improvement in quality or anything compared to the other Freeport stories. Just had more stuff I enjoyed in it. As a side note, keeping track of everything I read and writing down at least a one or two line reaction to it has really hammered in the lesson that enjoyment of a story is more about personal preference than quality. Back to the story. The villain is pretty neat once their full backstory is revealed. Can’t say more because of spoilers for both story and the show, in a manner of speaking. Not a good introduction to the Freeport series, but one I’d recommend to anyone who has read the first story of it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

