RSS

Pony Stories 693

07 Dec

So, getting so I’m only like three dozen review posts behind on the big master review list. Also ran across, thanks to my wide network of intelligence agents, two more sources I need to add to the list. One is First Glance Reviews which seems to just do the first chapter or two of each story. Which is pretty neat. Bet they don’t have nearly as much trouble getting through their submission folders. Anyway, looks like they only have 89 stories so far. So, you know, like four Presentperfect review posts worth of stuff to add to the list.

  • In His Own Way by Merc the Jerk
  • Twilight is Annoyed by Protopony350
  • Chocolate Milk by Monochromatic

In His Own Way by Merc the Jerk

Not a bad story. Humanized ponies with not much pony. As seems par for the course for this author from what I’ve seen so far. For a brief slice of life story it isn’t that bad. If you like Spike and Rarity as a pair this is a decent enough shipping story. If you don’t like the pairing then you really won’t like this story. I liked the whole the characters playing a video game with those scenes being more or less from their character’s perspectives. I wouldn’t have minded more of that as the main story. Actually, now that I think about it, that would be a neat way to mix slice of life and epic adventure. Anyway, the story as-is was… disappointing? Not quite the right word. I wasn’t grabbed or impressed but there wasn’t anything wrong with it or anything.

Twilight is Annoyed by Protopony350

Starts off a little bland, but as the story unfolds I found it very effective. As the full impact of what was going on with Twilight was revealed I found it very effective. Not a lot to say that wouldn’t be spoilers and the reveal isn’t a big mystery but I still think the best way to experience the story is more or less from a blank slate instead of having someone else’s view of it to work from. I’d certainly recommend it as long as you aren’t expecting fluffyness and brightness.

Chocolate Milk by Monochromatic

Rainbow Dash is hard to portray effectively because her character is such a balancing act between not enough and too much. Twilight you can go a long way with just a focus on her OCD or studying, and Rarity can be faked pretty well with some narrative smoke and mirrors, but Dash is such a tension between confidence and arrogance that it is just too easy to write her as a one-dimensional caricature. This story pulls it off quite nicely in my opinion. The author is the same one that writes a lot of the Twilight and Rarity romance stuff, so they have become one of my favorites for fluffy romance stuff. So it could be just that I like their style. Still, I do feel that this story is a good point of view of Rainbow Dash.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 693

  1. Present Perfect

    December 7, 2016 at 6:50 pm

    I suspect I am being sniped at. :V

     
    • Griffin

      December 8, 2016 at 1:33 am

      The word sniped implies a level of care and precision I’m not comfortable associating with, well, almost anything I do.

      Just more good-hearted complaints about how many reviews you pack into each of your posts. I went through one of your fic recs that had like a dozen stories in it.

       
      • Present Perfect

        December 8, 2016 at 8:38 am

        No one ever complains about the posts that only have five stories. :V

         
      • Griffin

        December 9, 2016 at 1:00 am

        This is true!

         

Leave a Reply

