RSS

Pony Stories 697

12 Dec

Sleep schedule messed up, so missed a day. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

  • At the Riverside by Pascoite
  • Sic Transit Gloria Mundi by MrNumbers
  • Mares in Pairs by Trick Question

At the Riverside by Pascoite

I liked this one. Not only a interesting take on the mane six and the subject of death, but I really liked the implications of the last scene of it. Recommended for anyone that wants something just a little off the beaten path of ponyfic.

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi by MrNumbers

That was a very nice melancholy piece. Plus a good example of how to tell a story with letters, even though it isn’t one that is told entirely with them. Just a few here and there that are little glimpses into what happened. Pinkie Pie’s in particular hit me, but that’s not a surprise given my own fears and beliefs. A very thoughtful and interesting piece that has quite a bit to say about Princess Celestia even though she never actually shows up in it.

Mares in Pairs by Trick Question (no link)

Huh. Well, not a bad story. Which is pretty much how I open most reviews where I don’t really have anything particular to say about the story quality. Mostly it needed a bit more space. The entire thing is Twilight being strongly against gay mares for no particular reason. Then it gets kind of explained in the last few lines in the most offhand way possible. So… Vaguely recommended I think? If it was twice as long and had some actual expiration of the topic and Twilight’s point of view it would have been really good. As-is, just kinda average? Huh. Since I downloaded the story it has apparently been deleted from FimFiction. Which I think is a shame. I might not have loved it, but it was certainly a story worth reading despite its flaws. Oh well.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2016 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 697

  1. Pascoite Fics

    December 12, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    I think Trick Question has had some account problems lately, so that may explain it. Don’t know if she got them sorted out.

    And thanks for the review. I’m glad you liked it! I just got it in my head one day that it would be neat to explore their different takes on death and have it turn out that they were all correct.

     
    • Trick Question

      April 2, 2017 at 7:57 pm

      Nah, it was one of my intentional delete-this-terrible-story things. I do put my deleted works online where they can be seen, however (see my user page).

       

Leave a Reply

