RSS

Pony Stories 701

02 Jan

Well, typing this up on my phone. Bluetooth keyboard and phone really. Because my computer decided life was too hard and cut out on me. Pretty sure it’s the video card. The computer sounds like it is booting up fine (the right beeps and whirring noises in the case) but the monitor shows nothing. Same with a different monitor. Guess I should be glad it didn’t happen two days ago when I was working on catching up with the BMRL. So, time to figure out how to get a functional computer then. So, armature (amateur?) statistics from the BMRL will be delayed. Probably good that I am forced to take a few days break from Fallout 4, I guess.

For now, pony fanfic reviews from stuff I read a while back. Without fancy links to the stories because that is a pain to do on the phone.

Starlight Glimmer is the Best at Friends by Majin Syeekoh

Amusing in a light and fluffy way. Certainly worth a read if you liked the story description. Very much a what you read is what you get.

The Great Snowball War by Ponibius

Not bad. I liked the characters involved, but I think the actual narrative gets a bit carried away sometimes. I really want to read more about the main character though, she’s hilarious and interesting.

Is It Real? by Majin Syeekoh

Not bad. Good enough story, but the basic premise of Princess Celestia’s reply bothered me a little. The difference between history and myth and all that. I would put the events of Hearth’s Warming Eve as history, but apparently Princess Celestia prefers to treat it as myth. Stories like this make me feel like I agree with the people who see Princess Celestia as incompetent.

(Edit: The author rightfully points out that I was a little harsh on the story. Celestia does not say it is a myth, she purposefully leaves it neither confirmed nor denied because the point is that the spirit of the holiday should not dependent on the facts of the original legend. Turns out myth is one of those things I’ve got a skewed definition of in my personal vocabulary and need to be a little more precise in it’s use in the future.).

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2016, Reviews, Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Pony Stories 701

  1. Cerulean “Adrenaline” Voice

    January 2, 2017 at 9:17 am

    I’m sure Maring Seeker will be pleased to see two reviews of his stories. 🙂

     
    • Griffin

      January 2, 2017 at 9:27 am

      Well, I thought he needed some attention. Too many people overlook him and only read stories by more popular authors.

      (because I realized that text doesn’t carry tone of voice, this was meant to be silly. Best if you imagine it in an over the top comedic sincere voice)

       
  2. majinsyeekoh

    January 22, 2017 at 10:28 pm

    I appreciate the reviews, but I have to contest the takeaway from Celestia’s reply you got in Is It Real? because this has just been eating at me ever since I read your thoughts on it.

    Celestia’s not saying it’s myth. She saying it doesn’t matter whether or not it’s myth or real as long as everyone enjoys the holiday and letting Starlight come to that conclusion on her own.

    The very episode I used for reference implies that it may not be seen as quite resolutely historical in present Equestrian times as we once thought by way of Starlight referring to the Hearth’s Warming tale as a legend, and that’s where the idea for Starlight to even ask the question came from. We of course know differently due to expanded materials, but Starlight doesn’t quite have the same resources at her disposal as we do.

     
    • Griffin

      January 22, 2017 at 11:19 pm

      Yeah, I got that. I guess I didn’t really express myself as well as I could have. In my opinion it matters if the windigos are real or not, so by just blowing them off as ‘either way as long as you get warm fuzzy feelings’ bugs me. Part of it is my own idiosyncratic use of myth. In my head, by not confirming or denying it happened it prevents it from slotting into factual history or the other side of fiction. The fuzzy middle ground is myth for me. Not quite real, not quite fake. I wouldn’t have minded so much if she had confirmed that Windigos were real but left it vague if the exact events of the legend played out the way the traditional story says.

      Also, now with accurate spellcheck!

       
      • majinsyeekoh

        January 30, 2017 at 3:28 pm

        I guess I didn’t check off email replies? Oh well.

        I could see that angle of it upon thinking back, yeah. I suppose the answer Celestia gave would irk those who like proper categorization.

        Also I didn’t expect that little addendum you added there.

         
      • Griffin

        January 30, 2017 at 6:46 pm

        Yeah, the email reply clicky-thingy isn’t clicked by default and is kind of easy to miss.

        Yeah, that was my main problem with it. Just… The existence of civilization-wrecking snow spirits seems to be a kind of important fact to me.

         

Leave a Reply

