RSS

Non-pony review

19 Jan

Seven-Point Star Kindle Edition by G. S. Taylor

That was incredibly disappointing. Strong star, bland but plenty of potential middle, ending was kinda terrible.

I think I got pointed at this because it was written by ponyfic author? I honestly don’t remember. Going into it completely blind was interesting. I didn’t even read the book description since I read it on my kindle and I normally keep the wifi turned off and unlike the pony fan fiction, bought stories need the internet to give me the blurb. So had no clue what I was getting into.

So, post world war one magic-tech society where world war 2 never happened was kind of cool. Main character some kind of thief with unique magical abilities, was certainly interesting. Got a little slow in the middle when she’s in the magic corporation floating city utopia being a experimental subject. Just kinda slice of life stuff, but without the character study or building for the most part. Then some character building happened and I was getting back into it.

Then the end happened and sort of big action end piece running on auto pilot with no real stakes or purpose until the end. Where a big deus ex machina, pretty much literally, stops everything and gives the main character and her surrogate little sister a happy ending. Boom, done. None of the cool worldbuilding pays off, none of the little dangling threads of what appeared to be foreshadowing lead anywhere.

Part of me suspects the author just didn’t have any clue how to end it so just kinda wrote a rushed end that wrapped everything up as simplistically as possible. We don’t even know what the heck the seven-pointed star was all about.

So, not recommended. Like I said. Was so disappointed. Not as bad as other books and there were interesting bits here and there. Just… Why didn’t those interesting bits go anywhere? Plus at one point the characterization of the main character literally contradicted itself.

To compare it with another story that I had something of a similar reaction to, Colony by Max Florschutz. That had gotten a similar reaction in that the beginning was cool, middle dragged, and end was a bit disappointing. Yet I never felt cheated by that story. The characters were cool and interesting all the way through and the ending had both tension and I got the feeling that the story, both the main characters and the colony’s stories, would continue and the events of the story would factor into the future of both. So… My review for Seven-Pointed Star is that you should go read Colony instead.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Non-pony review

  1. iisawiisaw

    January 19, 2017 at 2:40 pm

    Beginnings are easy. Endings are hard. Just look at all the abandoned stories on FiMFic. Or the ones that go on and on in an endless middle for that matter.

     
    • Griffin

      January 19, 2017 at 6:44 pm

      So true. I have the most trouble with middles myself. Endings are actually not that hard for me, it’s just getting from the start to the end in a coherent fashion.

       
  2. Anonymous

    January 19, 2017 at 5:25 pm

    Ouch. I was actually considering giving this a look too.

     
    • Griffin

      January 19, 2017 at 6:44 pm

      If you want I can loan my copy (ebook) to you through Amazon and you can give it a try, see if you liked it any better than I did.

       
  3. Max

    January 19, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    Ah, that’s disappointing to hear. PaulAsaran really liked it. Then again, I’ve noticed you tend to be really critical of things in relation to “Here’s what I would have written instead, and the direction I would to take the ending if it was my book,” which isn’t exactly the best kind of criticism for a review, so maybe it’s not so bad. I’ll probably still take a gander at it at some point. Either way, thanks for the plug.

    And since I’m on the topic, many of your “concerns” with Colony did stem from assuming that there wasn’t a concrete answer given to something so therefore there was no answer at all based on what you would do. I will reassure you that there are answers, and the whole picture does make sense. You just don’t have the whole picture yet. That’s what Jungle is for.

     
    • Griffin

      January 19, 2017 at 10:12 pm

      Yeah, my brain tends to get a bit wild thinking about what would be cool while I read a story and then if the story doesn’t provide I get a bit disappointed. I try not to dock the story points for that looking back on it, but it isn’t something I’m always successful at.

      Honestly, my only big problem with Colony was that the alien robots weren’t quite as interesting as I would have liked. Everything else was great. I’m really looking forward to Jungle. That was why I brought it up here as a comparison was I thought it was a good comparison for what the story was lacking and what I wanted to happen. Colony was an example of me-centered disappointment ‘it did not happen the way my brain wanted’ where as Seven-Pointed Star was, in my opinion, a case of the story itself was lacking things.

      Re-reading Paul’s review of it it might be just I missed all the clues and clever bits. Which is still on the author, but is a much smaller offense. Just didn’t fit against my brain I guess.

       

Leave a Reply

