RSS

Pony Stories 712

21 Jan

Yeah, two days is enough to humor my insecurities about whether or not I’ve gotten my meaning through text to people I’ve never met in person. Back to what really matters. Tiny cartoon magic horses. Up and comer reviewer MLPmatthewl419 has gotten his own column on the Big Master Review List. He actually went past 100 reviews a while ago but only recently I’ve gotten them all on the list. Current in the rankings he is between Inquisitor M and Everfree Spotlight, but if he continues at his current pace I expect him to defeat plenty of other reviewers and zip left along the list to the big leagues.

  • Three Gems and a Scooter by RaylanKrios

Three Gems and a Scooter by RaylanKrios

I didn’t finish this one. Not because of the quality but because of a combination of two things. I don’t agree with the author’s choices in a few places and I can’t help but compare this story to Spellbound Fireflies which is one of my favorite ponyfics and about Scootaloo getting adopted. Not that it is a good thing to compare a story against a better version of part of it, but when I’m thinking about the other story while reading every single page it kind of hampers any immersion or enjoyment. The writing isn’t great or anything. Good spelling and grammar, but the viewpoint careens around a bit. In one chapter we were switching between Rarity and Scootaloo just kind of at random. For their internal thoughts even which got a bit confusing until I realized the perspective had switched for no apparent reason.

I did think Rarity is being a bit unreasonable given that she doesn’t actually intend to adopt Scootaloo at first. She interferes in Scootaloo going to a family waiting for her and insists on being the one to look after her until Foal Services can find a new family for her in Ponyville. Just seems… Well, kind of selfish. Which is a shame, but other than that detail I liked the basic setup. Scootaloo is not being abused and has a family waiting for her instead of just ‘bouncing around the system’ of foster care. Rarity has to honestly decide if going out of her way to help Scootaloo stay in Ponyville is honestly the right choice and all that.

However, all the complaints are the result of my own expectations and baggage. Anyone who likes Scootaloo adoption stories should give the first few chapters a try and see if they like it.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 712

  1. Logan

    January 22, 2017 at 2:40 pm

    MLPmatthewl419 is an interesting one. I like that he’s reviewed so much, and his method of reviewing multiple stories by some authors in one chunk is interesting — though I really hope he doesn’t do that with Jay-The-Brony, as that guy’s published over 200! On the downside, Matthew’s scoring system seems a bit generous. I can’t remember anything getting below 6/10 yet, and I’m not sure anyone, ever, has liked 100 stories in a row to that degree. It’ll be interesting to see whether his approach to reviewing evolves over time. I suspect everyone’s does; I know mine has.

     
    • Griffin

      January 22, 2017 at 3:09 pm

      Might be the case that he only reviews the stories he likes. If it gets 5 or less, he doesn’t put it in a review post.

       
      • Logan

        January 23, 2017 at 12:09 pm

        Possibly, though that would seem a bit odd — if it was an out-and-out “Recommendations” blog, it would make perfect sense, but it doesn’t seem to be.

         
    • iisawiisaw

      January 22, 2017 at 3:11 pm

      I think his scale is just shifted toward the high end. He gave one story a 12 out of 10, and a story he rated 7.5 was “Not Recommended.”

      Keeping that in mind, I think he does a pretty good job of conveying whether or not a reader will like a given story.

       
      • Logan

        January 23, 2017 at 12:08 pm

        He did tell me recently that the score and the text recommendation were two different things in his mind, though I’m not sure I entirely grasped the reasoning. I think you may well be right about the shift, though — and sure, I’m glad he’s around and I have read a couple of stories because of his posts. He hasn’t reviewed very much of the real big guns of ponyfic yet, so it’ll be interesting to see what happens to his scores if/when he gets to those.

         

Leave a Reply

