RSS

Pony Stories 718

28 Jan

Just saw the movie Arrival. A bit more artsy than I like, but good enough. The start and end are pretty good science fiction and the middle is mostly forcefully meaningful scenes in a almost montage setup. So, the middle kind of lost my attention when I realized they weren’t going to focus on the actual translation work. The end had good dose of scifi that I gave the middle a pass. I don’t want to spoil the ending since the reveal is really the point of the movie. I’m not sure I’d recommend it to someone looking for good science fiction. Just know that if you do go watch it, the movie does have some good science fiction tucked into the start and end.

  • The Reality I Choose by The Hat Man

The Reality I Choose by The Hat Man

A very nice exploration of the concept. A thought experiment about the multiple timelines. I have one tiny little nitpick about it, but that doesn’t stop it from being a really good snapshot story. I do like how the end doesn’t actually decide one way or another. Which is a minor spoiler, but not a huge one and I think worth a mention given how it strengthens the story on a thematic level. I think? Man, that sentence was just tortured. I liked the ending and I liked the story. Recommend for anyone who wants a pretty neat look at Twilight having to deal with a fairly nice Timeline in her endless Season 5 ending loops.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

