RSS

Pony Stories 720

01 Feb

Whoops. Missed yesterday. Oh well. Actually, you know what. I’m going to schedule this for tomorrow instead and get back on the 9am every day timing. So zoom! A little depressed since the third D&D night of the last week and a half got cancelled. Sunday for sure! Gives me more time to fiddle with my house-rules and I’ve decided that Fate Accelerated just isn’t to my taste for D&D stuff. I still think it works great for Shadowrun and will continue to be my go-to system for that in the future, but just didn’t feel like things fit when I was trying to add more house-rules and stuff to it for my D&D ideas.

  • Those Who Wield Power by PresentPerfect
  • How Are We Still Single? by Jay-The-Brony

Those Who Wield Power by PresentPerfect
A nice Princess Celestia story. Reading the description had my brain going in fairly wacky ways given some of the Princess Celestia stories out there addressing this topic. Yet the story plays the whole thing pretty straight and from the point of view of the pony challenging the princess. Subtle without being too obvious or doing the thing I (and others I suppose) usually do where body language is spelled out for exposition sake. The story itself is fairly fluffy but there is a good layer of more serious stuff hidden under it that only barely peeks out once or twice. This is one of the author’s better pieces in my opinion. Recommended for anyone who likes Princess Celestia, or really for anyone who doesn’t hate her.

How Are We Still Single? by Jay-The-Brony
Eeeh. Not bad, but not what I was hoping for either. I was kind of hoping for a bit more silly was and more to the point, the girls chatting about the subject. This was Sonata’s boyfriend getting called over to give short explanations why each of the mane six and the other two Dazzling’s haven’t gotten date offers. All of the reasons were fairly reasonable and believable, but I was hoping for a bit more back and forth conversation and not just broken-down monologue. If you don’t mind that, give it a shot.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 720

  1. Present Perfect

    February 1, 2017 at 10:29 am

    ee 😀

     
  2. Logan

    February 1, 2017 at 2:18 pm

    Unsurprisingly, TWWP is a definite to-read for me!

     
    • Griffin

      February 1, 2017 at 10:30 pm

      I would bet money you will enjoy it! I mean, not actually betting money on it because I’m not crazy, but I’m still pretty sure you will enjoy it.

       

Leave a Reply

