RSS

Pony Stories 738

02 Apr

Had a idea recently. I know, it surprised me too! I almost didn’t know what to do with it. Then I remember there is the internet, where ideas are piled up like dirty laundry. Starlight Glimmer and Princess Luna bonding over how Equestria has changed. Figure Starlight was in her isolated town for a decade or two. Imagine going to a Amish town in the late eighties and come back now and trying to catch up. Then again, I still want to see a story about Princess Luna helping the Crystal Ponies adjust to the modern era.

  • Freeport Venture: Shimmer-Mare’s Birthday!!! by Chengar Qordath 
  • The Best of Tensions by BlazzingInferno 
  • Exterminatus by Ari Dufrense 
  • Spot That Changeling by Inspector Brown

Freeport Venture: Shimmer-Mare’s Birthday!!! by Chengar Qordath

Eh, lacks the high fantasy adventure stuff I like about the other books in this series and/or universe. Well written in that I thought the whole young kid getting a present for a adult they really like was very well done. Just… The story really doesn’t have anything more than that. It was a complete story but part of me feels like it would have worked a lot better as part of a much larger story.

The Best of Tensions by BlazzingInferno

A story about Spike learning a magic massage technique that triggers a fantasy-life dream in whatever pony he uses it on. Which ends up with every mare who experiences it to want him to continue and never stop. A bare hint of Spike and Rarity romance when he demonstrates it on her. I liked it. Was an interesting situation and had a nice resolution. I’ve got no complaints about it as a story, had enough pony flavor to keep that part of my brain quiet, and the writing was good enough that I didn’t think about the author for the entire story.

Exterminatus by Ari Dufrense

Ow. Ow. The writing in this is… well, kind of terrible. Just… I mean, Twilight overhears the orders given to wipe out a planet, then the entire planet unites to send a war fleet to wipe out earth. That’s the whole thing. Just… Look, the writing wasn’t all that great but really my main problem has to do with… One planet cannot put together a fleet that the WH40K Imperium of Man would even notice. Must less how the fleet would even know where Earth is.

Spot That Changeling by Inspector Brown

I found this kind of boring. Writing was functional enough, but when the first several pages of each chapter is the mane six asking each other “Are you the changeling? Do you think I’m the changeling?” over and over again… Ugh. I get that it was supposed to be mostly focused on the logic puzzle aspect of the situation, but I felt the story didn’t pull it off that well. Instead of just one time, each chapter is another round of the same game with another pony replaced. The reader doesn’t really get much of a feel for any real logic patterns or anything. I’d recommend reading the first chapter or two to check it out, but I didn’t get much further and I’m not sure you would either.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 738

  1. Present Perfect

    April 2, 2017 at 7:03 pm

    You forgot to include the third one in your summary! :O It must really be bad.

     
    • Griffin

      April 2, 2017 at 8:14 pm

      Fourth one, and just forgetful. I should have left the third one off.

       

Leave a Reply

