RSS

Florida Trip day 3

05 Apr

Bleh. This might be the least enjoyable road trip I’ve ever taken. Worse than usual sleeping and just general blahness. Also it’s going to be four days longer than expected due to a schedule shakeup. So going to miss three days of D&D gaming instead of two.

Always weird how worn out and tired I feel after a day off driving. I always expect to have a chance to write and read, but stumbling into the hotel at 10pm or later and I’m pretty much just falling over into bed. Then up early and just kind of blah from not sleeping well in hotels. One reason I’m looking forward to our destination.

Today (Tuesday) wasn’t too bad. One good thing about the scheduling shakeup was that we didn’t have to do a full day of driving today so got to a hotel early and spent the evening relaxing. So that was nice. Main reason I’ve got the time/energy to type this up.

I’ve read a few pony stories, but for the most part my reading has been Admiral Biscuit’s million word epic Silver Glow’s Journal. Which I’ve read halfway through before but decided to start over to read it from beginning to end now that he finished it. Gotten about one-fourth of the way through it and about as good as I remember. Not great, but… I don’t know. Fun bits but it is just so slow and the telly style kind of goes up and down. I mean the story is 1.6 Fallout Equestra’s and much, much less actually happens in it. Reading it over from the beginning and I’m finding it about as semi-engaging as before and this time I know everything that’s going to happen. Which in one way is good, but in another way that means that it wasn’t all that exicting in the first place. Part of me suspects the best way to read it is one chapter a day. Or maybe 2-3, but certainly would guess that doing it serial-story style is a good idea. I’m just too impatient to take that long since it’s a full year of daily journals and even then chapters a day would take a full month to read.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017

 

6 responses to “Florida Trip day 3

  1. iisawiisaw

    April 5, 2017 at 3:15 pm

    I almost always wait until a fic is finished to read it, and that’s true of Silver Glow’s Journal. You make the second person who has told me that I shouldn’t read it straight through, but take the chapters at a one-a-day pace!

    I guess I should have read it as it came out, but who knew? It has sunk down on my TBR list quite a ways now. 😦

     
    • Griffin

      April 5, 2017 at 3:23 pm

      Yeah, me to. One of the reasons I gave it a shot when he was partway through it. I’d recommend giving it a shot and read it around other stuff.

       
      • iisawiisaw

        April 6, 2017 at 1:41 am

        I’ll give that a try, but I’m probably going to read several chapters at a time.

         
      • Griffin

        April 6, 2017 at 8:49 am

        That is what I’d recommend actually. One at a time would be a bit too slow.

         
      • iisawiisaw

        April 6, 2017 at 1:18 pm

        Five or six chapters in now. This is just about the sliceiest slice-o-life thing I’ve read, but kind of charming really. I think a few chapters before bed will be the routine.

         
      • Griffin

        April 6, 2017 at 1:19 pm

        Yep. I’m pretty sure it would be impossible to be more slice of life.

         

Leave a Reply

