RSS

Pony Stories 741

20 Apr

So, just saw that Chris over at One Man’s Pony Ramblings is doing some reviewer review sort of stuff. Which apparently got me a spot! This is what happens when one doesn’t keep up with people’s blogs apparently. Given my terrible reaction to potential criticism I haven’t actually gotten up the courage to actually read it. Even though I’ve got a pretty good idea of what the judgement is going to be and Chris is a cool guy so either way it’ll be all smooth and gentle and all that. Stupid brain. I suppose at the very least I need to get back to commenting on actual ponyfic stories.

  • Barnyard Barge-Ins by Estee
  • Three Hundred And Sixty Degrees Of Saturation by Estee

Barnyard Barge-Ins by Estee

I liked it. Had some good bits, no bad bits, and I always appreciate a friendly look at Filthy Rich. I enjoyed it as nice entertainment, but the punchline at the very end nearly had me falling out of my chair. Would it be worth it if you didn’t like the story as a whole? Eh, probably not. I still chuckle just thinking about it though.

Three Hundred And Sixty Degrees Of Saturation by Estee

It’s got a standard issue Estee villain in it, but as a minor part of the overall story. I like how Estee portrays Rarity. Well, I enjoy how that author does all of the main six, but in particular they do a good job with Rarity in my opinion. A good angle on Rarity’s both bad and good parts of her personality. Now that I think about it, this would be a good story to introduce someone to Estee’s writing style. It’s got pretty much everything the author has to offer in small bits scattered through the story. Both good and bad, but the bad not to the extreme that some of the author’s previous works have shown. Not sure if that’s practice on their part, not as critical view on my part, or alien mind control on both of us. At the very least if you like the author this is one to read and if you are lukewarm or not familiar with Estee’s work this is a good one to give them another try or check out for the first time.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 741

  1. Chris

    April 20, 2017 at 8:14 pm

    I suppose you could ask someone else to read my review of your reviews for you, then report back on whether it was safe for you to read or not.

    Or maybe you’re the sort of person who enjoys savoring a good mystery. Well, if you don’t want to know what I said, I won’t ruin the suspense!

    (for serious though, I don’t think I said anything mean)

     
    • Griffin

      April 21, 2017 at 6:57 am

      You were quite nice and fair. My brain is just really wonky about that sort of thing. Like, fixates on the .05% chance something bad will happen when someone is, well, reviewing me I guess is the best way to put it. I know it was perfectly safe, so getting someone else to read it wouldn’t accomplish much.

      However, did get around to reading it and thought it was quite nice. Thanks!

      Now we just need to get someone else to do reviews of other reviewers and then we get another person to review two reviewers of reviews! Let’s see how many layers we can get between people and actual pony fan fiction.

       

Leave a Reply

