RSS

Pony Stories 747

08 May

Now boarding, semi-daily flight to ponyword reactions and rambling.

Playing Minecraft again is always interesting. I’ve gone through two or three periods where I don’t play it for a few years and come back for a few weeks or even a month or two. I did find the world on my backup hard drive which is really nice. It’s one I’ve played off and on since Minecraft was first released. So it’s got interesting terrain generation where one version very obviously had different algorithms than the previous. Because the terrain doesn’t actually get created until you travel to it. Or near it, really. I’ve really liked playing in the same world as the game got developed and updated because it meant that anytime something new was added I had to travel further so that the game would created parts of the world with the new content in it.Same with any mods I’ve played with. At the moment I’m just wandering around finding the stuff I’ve worked on before. Remembering this and that project. Nothing too impressive, especially by the standards of hardcore Minecraft players, but several things I’m proud of. Still need to find the giant tree of wood and glass I built in my brief sojourn running a multiplayer server.

  • Tricks Of The Trade Show by Estee
  • Cut, Color, Carat, Clarity by Estee

Tricks Of The Trade Show by Estee

Cut, Color, Carat, Clarity by Estee

Another set I’m going to do as one review-thingy. Both of these stories involve young Rarity getting her start as a clothes horse (heehee), fashionista. I enjoy how Estee writes Rarity so these were enjoyable to read. Each has a fairly pessimistic view of the world around the main character, but not to a story wrecking degree in my opinion. Plus it actually helps a bit in this case, a teenage Rarity struggling against the unfair world sort of thing. Where one can read the terrible works as a view of things from a somewhat stressed and emotional young professional with lots of ambition and little experience. I doubt the author meant it that way given the general pessimist view found in many of their other stories, but here it can work as a layer of unreliable narrator.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 747

  1. Present Perfect

    May 8, 2017 at 7:01 pm

    Tricks of the Trade Show: So good/terrible, it left poor Logan speechless!

     
    • Griffin

      May 9, 2017 at 3:30 pm

      The things I miss when I’m behind on catching up on reviews!

       

Leave a Reply

