RSS

Pony Stories 752

15 Jun

My online D&D game is going decently well. Third or fourth session of the main group (which is down to three people) this afternoon. Hopefully start up a small second group on Sunday. Got most of it up over on this site that works decently well with a few annoying flaws. I’m thinking about putting my pony worldbook up on that site too as a different campaign. Just for a place to put it where I can show it to people. Plus it would be handy if I ever actually run a pony-based game.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that the update over on FimFiction is something I don’t like. It’s got a few good bits (or so I assume) and lots of bits that I’m ambivalent about, but I really don’t l like how it minimizes author names. They don’t show up in the story’s page except for the account name at the very top. On the story cards in list and the main page the author names are a slightly bold bit of dark grey text on a light grey background in the lower left. Where they are easy to miss and in fact even knowing the author name is there it takes me a moment or two to find it. I just kind of hate something that minimizes the author’s name like that. Especially on a site where people are doing things for free and just putting stuff up for people to appreciate it. On the plus side, the story pages now finally have a ‘select all’ button for unread/read chapters! So much better than doing long stories chapter by chapter when I’ve read them on my kindle.

  • Gadget’s Gift: A Hearth’s Warming Tale by The Hat Man
  • The Best of All Possible Worlds by McPoodle

Gadget’s Gift: A Hearth’s Warming Tale by The Hat Man

Decent enough. Little shallow, little fluffy, but worth reading if you like The Iron Horse main story.

The Best of All Possible Worlds by McPoodle

The previous story reaction was a very short review because there isn’t much to say about the story. This one is going to be a short review for a different reason. I could probably find lots to say about this story, but nothing springs off the top of my head. I liked it a lot. I would love to know how a Voltaire expert/fanboy would react to his portrayal here. I know his name and that’s about it so I can’t comment on how accurate/funny/etc the character is. I thought he was well handled as a character. His interactions with the ponies and Princess Celestia were very amusing and clever. I’d highly recommend this one, despite a few flaws that I’m not going to tell you about because I’ve forgotten the details since I read it. Just remember that it wasn’t perfect. Part of me thinks that it would have been just as good or better if the sub-plot with the donkey in the human world had been cut out. The bit at the end with the copies getting killed and their memories passing on to the new versions also seems needlessly over-complicated. A tighter focus on just the phlisopher-in-Equestria (PiE) would have been more interesting in my opinion. Still, a good story that I would recommend.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

