RSS

Pony Stories 754

19 Jun

So, time is a thing. Getting old. One of the surprises was not that the younger generations (however you want to define that) like different things than I do. I mean, I was expecting that given my own growing up as a nerd-ish child of the 80s gave me a fairly specific area of social inputs. (TMNT, Roadhouse, early anime, etc) so I figured that anyone younger than I by a decade or two (or three) would have a different set of cultural/social inputs. The surprise was that I have absolutely no clue what those might be. I think about what might be sticking in the head of someone in their teens or younger and I have no clue what they might consider Transformers cartoon level important. I mean, sure, the ones with good taste are enjoying the correct parts of MLP, but other than that? Piff. No clue. Makes me feel old, but not as old as League of Legends did/does. Also, I’m getting nearer the age my parents were when I was a kid old enough to actually understand how old they were. Guh. Why hasn’t the singularity happened and the all-power AI made us all immortal slaves yet? Or at least solved the sleep problem.

  • Changeling Courtship Rituals by Codex Ex Equus
  • Pony Courtship Rituals by Codex Ex Equus

Changeling Courtship Rituals by Codex Ex Equus

Pony Courtship Rituals by Codex Ex Equus

Been a while since I read these, so just going to do a basic overview. It’s worth reading both of them anyway. If you liked the first one, you’ll probably like the second one. This portrayal of Chrysalis was amusing. Not quite as far on the silly side of the spectrum as I’ve enjoyed in the past, but certainly on that side of things. I also liked the concept of the Changeling Queen has very strong sudden emotions because she acts as the hive’s emotional spit-valve. So the rest of the hive is stable and emotionally steady because the Queen is just all over the place. Not in a minute-by-minute sense, but in the sense that she feels very strongly and can’t suppress what she feels. I would consider this a shipping story and not a ‘proper’ romance. A lot of Twilight’s behavior is reminiscent of Alien Shipping Syndrome in several places. Still, was amusing and I liked it, so if you are a right-thinking individual you will like it too in the exact same amount and type of enjoyment I had with it. Otherwise you are doing it wrong! Oh, and Princess Cadace in the second book was… interesting. I don’t want to give spoilers. Not that it’s a huge mystery. Just it’s a main part of the story that should unfold with the story and not just summarized before someone reads the first book of the two.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Pony Stories 754

  1. Present Perfect

    June 19, 2017 at 7:33 pm

    Actually, despite loving the first story, I hated the second, and Cadence’s portrayal was the reason. :B

     
    • Griffin

      June 22, 2017 at 2:47 am

      Huh. I guess I can see that, though I might have thought you would have liked Cadance-as-villain.

       

Leave a Reply

