RSS

Pony Stories 770

14 Jul

One of the good things about reading so much fan fiction (or stories in general I suppose) is that when you have seen all the basic ideas, premises, and plots that it becomes very easy to compare ideas that work against ideas that don’t. Or more specifically the execution of said ideas. I’m re-reading Memoirs of a Royal Guard, because reading the short stories of that AU that I enjoy (Azurite and Sunny Day for the win!) got me wanting to check the main story again to see how I like it the second time through. Anyway, I’m reminded of a somewhat similar ponyfic that had the main character joining the guard, going through training, and getting Shining Armor as a mentor. Which is more or less the basic description of the beginning of Memoirs. However, that other story was kind of terrible and Memoirs actually pulls it off. All with just a bit of tweaking of the basic premise that makes it all make sense. In the other story, whose name I’m blanking on, it just kind of happens. Shining Armor walks up to the main character on their first day as a guard and says ‘You are awesome, you are now my protege” out of nowhere. Not those exact words, obviously, but that basic idea. Whereas in Memoirs it all comes from the main character volunteering and Shining Armor mentions he considers himself the main character’s mentor just in passing and it surprises the main character.

Passion and Reason by MrNumbers

I read this a couple of days ago and can’t really remember much about it. So, fluffy shipping story. I remember enjoying it and finding it sweet but nothing of the story itself really stuck.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2017 in Ponies, Reading 2017, Reviews

 

3 responses to “Pony Stories 770

  1. Pascoite Fics

    July 14, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    This is one of the most delightfully ironic reviews I’ve ever read.

     
    • Griffin

      July 14, 2017 at 10:58 pm

      Glad I could amuse, I guess?

       
      • Pascoite Fics

        July 17, 2017 at 6:53 pm

        It’s a long story, but yes.

         

Leave a Reply

