RSS

Continuing to go on.

13 Apr

Apparently, one of the new features of WordPress is that you can automatically turn posts into a podcast. Which makes absolutely no sense to me. I can see why the company would do it, but that’s because corporate decision making is great for making incoherent ideas. Which is one of the reasons I’m trying to move away from the big corporate domination of day to day life.

A month or two ago I made a concerted effort to cut google out of my life. Not up for doing it completely, but no longer using google maps, google search, or even the google play store for my phone if I can avoid it. Almost got a google-free android phone, but it was a bit pricey and my current calendar app isn’t available on it.

Likewise I’ve moved a bit toward more privacy and open-source for other pieces of software. I changed my email of like two decades to a privacy based service with end to end encryption and a focus on privacy and user focus. Swapped out Dropbox for Sync for more end to end encryption. Started using a VPN, all that jazz. I even now use Signal for my text messaging. Which makes me feel all cloak and dagger in some ways. Nobody can see what I’m doing on my computer or phone anymore!

Well, in theory. Sadly a lot of the services only do the ultra-secure stuff if both people talking have it. So my new text messages are pretty much as secure as they have ever been. If I ever do find someone else with Signal to text, then watch out! Likewise for my email. Still, even just a tiny step away from capitalist corporate/government surveillance state is a good thing. So I’m calling it a moral victory for now.

(clicks publish button) “No wordpress, I still do not want to turn my blogpost into a podcast episode.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2021 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Continuing to go on.

  1. Present Perfect

    April 13, 2021 at 9:36 am

    What would it do, text-to-speech it?

     
    • Singularity Dream

      April 14, 2021 at 9:57 am

      I have very little idea! Though I suspect that’s probably what it does.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.