RSS

Pony Stories 234

01 Oct

Creating and maintaining the big master review list has been interesting. If I actually had any skill with spreadsheets or macros or whatever I could probably get all kinds of interesting information out of it. Not in my particular skillset though. So mostly I just get frustrated that no story has even half of the reviewers covering it. On one hand this is good, it means that all the different reviewers are covering different stories. Which is how we just passed 2500 stories on the list. However, it also defeats the purpose of the list which was to let people compare different people’s opinion on the same stories. There isn’t a single story that has even half of the reviewers covering it. I think the most reviewed story is In the Place the Wild Horses Sleep which has eight (well, nine but I don’t really count CiG’s reviews since it was kind of a one time thing). To Love The Sun has seven. Part of the problem is that I added several people who have only a handful of reviews total. Compared to, say, PresentPerfect who is a fanfic reading machine, or the unending juggernaut that is One Man’s Pony Ramblings which has been doing it forever, a couple dozen reviews just isn’t that much. Plus 3-4 followed reviewers on the list aren’t quite proper reviewers but simply groups meant to signal boost fics they think are good. The best part is that the subject bothers me often, so it’s good for an intro paragraph on a regular basis.

In Memoria Di by TrebleClef91

I would be money that English is not this author’s first language. This was painful to read just because of the awkward writing. Even the language suspision aside, this shows a lot of beginning writer mistakes. A few obvious typos as well. Not recommended.

Mareway and Hurst by BronyCray

This falls under the category of: decently written, but not really any pony in it. The lack of pony means I wouldn’t recommend it as a ponyfic. Plus it’s fairly bland. Which may have been something of the point, a bland look at a horrible event, but that still means it is bland.

The Kingdom of Palidark by Idio Adustum

Interesting concept, but lacking in execution. Writing gets worse in the second half. Which sucks because it wasn’t exactly great to begin with. My main complaint is that it doesn’t really go anywhere.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

7 responses to “Pony Stories 234

  1. Present Perfect

    October 1, 2014 at 8:46 am

    There’s something marvelous about the phrase “unending juggernaught”.

     
    • Griffin

      October 1, 2014 at 8:49 am

      I know! I was just puttering along with the sentence, and that popped into my head. I went ‘that phrase needs to be used’ and so I did.

       
    • bchandler2

      October 3, 2014 at 4:20 pm

      not to be confused with unending xjuggernautx

       
      • xjuggernaughtx

        October 4, 2014 at 8:46 am

        ::hands you a ‘g’ and an ‘h’:: It’s dangerous to go alone. Take these.

         
      • Griffin

        October 4, 2014 at 9:13 am

        You go to the sentence with the letters you’ve got, not the letters you want.

         
    • xjuggernaughtx

      October 4, 2014 at 8:42 am

      Ha! I’ve wiggled my way into you unconscious!

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.