RSS

Pony Stories 240

08 Oct

Augh. I really wish I could turn parts of my brain on and off at will. Need to find the settings menu. Anyone else figure out how to right-click on the brain yet? Just did the thing where I posted a comment, and got a reply, but haven’t read it because I don’t really want to read a bad or critical response to something I put effort into. Good thing I don’t have that problem here! Hopefully I will have gone back and looked at the reply between writing this and it going live on the blog. Though I have started to more seriously try to write a ponyfic. Fighting it off for now, but it’s getting persistent.

Warmongering by BronyWriter

Meh, I was unimpressed with this. It was a bit too reasonable and I don’t see Princess Celestia acting like she does for so long in these letters. The second chapter that isn’t in the letters is a bit better. Now, I really liked Letter to the gryphon emperor, which is similar. That was because that one had a increasing curve of ridiculousness that made clear it was meant to be comedic. As well as something like that (a througho point by point explaination of why war is a bad idea) is something I could see Twilight Sparkle doing.

Foreign Complications by RainbowBob

This is the type of political fiction I don’t enjoy much. The realistic kind (for certain measures of realistic of course). It also paints a very unflattering picture of Equestria, then doesn’t do anything with it. The minotaur king complains at Princess Celestia and Princess Twilight Sparkle, gives a one-sided ultimatum, then leaves. I would have liked at least one good rebuttal from Princess Celestia. Plus, you know, it felt really weird that the high priest of a sun-based religion would be that rude to Princess Celestia. Even if they worshipped the sun and not her, you’d think they would be at least respectful to the one who actually raised and lowered the sun. This has a annoying peeve of mine. The idea that Equestria is more or less what we see in the show, a cartoon fantasy kingdom, but the rest of the world is much more realistic. It can be done well, but for the most part just clashes. Either make the whole world much more cartoon fantasy, or you make Equestria more realistic. You can’t really have it be both ways and then make the clash the point of conflict.

This Minuette just keeps getting worse by Fimbulvinter

Time travel slice of life. Both things I really enjoy in a story. Also, totally the kind of thing I would do with immense power. Exploit it for the most trivial of reasons. Short and simple, but enjoyable. This is another sub-genre of stories that doesn’t get a lot of attention, but I really really like. Simple fluffy slice-of-life stories with casual heavy magic elements. It’s one of the reasons I enjoy ponyfic actually. Slice of life where magic is common and weather control is a casual thing.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 240

  1. inquisitormence

    October 8, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Huh. I seem to be agreeing with lots of people today.

    I think I need a bath.

     
    • Griffin

      October 8, 2014 at 3:05 pm

      Or a tin-foil hat. Those mind influencing rays are tricky.

       
  2. Pascoite Fics

    October 8, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    I’m right there with you. I’ve got several unread emails, messages, and comments that I don’t care to open because I’d rather avoid the confrontation, and by now, any possible relevance for most of them has long since passed.

     
    • Griffin

      October 8, 2014 at 10:35 pm

      Yeah, I try not to let them linger that long. The good news is that it’s hardly every as bad as you brain thinks it might be.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.