RSS

Fallout New Vegas

25 Jun

My latest activity obsession has been Fallout New Vegas. Which has been an interesting experience in at least two ways.

The first has been the comparison to Fallout 4. For all the flaws of Fallout 4, I do really like it. I am also in the apparent minority in that the last time I played New Vegas I didn’t really enjoy it. For those of you who might not know, New Vegas is widely considered the best Fallout game. Among the Bethesda FPS ones (3, NV, 4) anyway. My thoughts, even though I haven’t been all through the various DLCs? Fallout 4 is the better game, but New Vegas is the better story. Like, really, the mechanics and interface are kind of crap. Plus the level design has me confused and lost so much in New Vegas. Yet… The writing is not a dumpster fire like most Bethesda games. I really get now that New Vegas was done by a different studio. Can really feel the difference both good and bad.

The second interesting part has been seeing what have to be the reference points for the My Little Pony fan fiction Fallout Equestria, and to a lesser extent Project Horizons. Which I really should finish sometime now that it’s complete. Anyway. I had always assumed that the primary foundation of Fallout Equestria was Fallout 3. Same basic beginning, other details. Mostly because that was the one I had played. However, now I see that New Vegas was an equal or even more important foundation. At this moment I’m playing through the DLC Dead Money and getting flashbacks to Little Pip and company in pink fog filled Canterlot. All those times when I thought Littlepip was dumb running through the pink death for one reason or another… and now that I’m in the same situation I find myself doing the same thing.

Anyway, almost done playing through the third DLC. Which in this case, is Honest Hearts. I am not playing them in release order. It’s been cool to see a bit of foreshadowing and references between them. Almost as interesting as how each one is fairly isolated from the main game. Can’t take companions with you. One even removed all your inventory and such. Player can’t leave any of them until the quest-line is done. One you can’t even go back to once it’s over. As decent-to-good as the writing in the main game is, it almost seems like the people writing the DLCs wanted to be making entirely different games. Like, the equivalent of short stories. Whereas in Fallout 4, all the DLC got integrated right into the main game itself.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2018 in Video Game

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.