RSS

Anime: Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

01 Jul

Today marks the first day of (hopefully) a month of daily updates. Part of my multi-part plan to use the run up to Bronycon as motivation to try and get myself motivated to do things and be more active both physically and creatively. I’ve actually been writing content in the form of reviews for a week or so now just to have a buffer. Some pony fic reviews, but the majority is a dozen (or more) movie reviews from a few nights I’ve watched a whole bunch of niche obscure movies on Amazon Prime and Netflix. So that was interesting since most of them were not only movies I had never heard of but genres and styles I don’t normally watch.

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

This is an anime that I marathon’d this a week or two ago. Liked it a lot more than I thought I would. The series is zombie apocalypse, but with a few twists and ideas that makes the basic concept fresh once more. One, it’s not set in the present day. Sort of the typical anime vaguely medieval, but with steam power. Not that adding steampunk to zombies is a new thing, but it’s more just steam technology than going for the tropes of steampunk. The zombies have that usual anime mix of magic and science. That is, one of the characters refers to it as a virus but there is obviously something supernatural going on with the glowing hearts and general nature of them. Anyway, the world is overrun by zombies and the survivors (in Japan, anyway) live in fortress cities connected by railroads with huge armored trains that travel between them.

Now, this was only 13 episodes long and I wanted more. I would have loved a more episodic series where the main characters are on a train and each 3-episode arc was a new fortress city they had to deal with. Some overrun, others hostile, needing to trade for supplies. Now you are expecting that too! Too bad. There is a solid plot with a beginning, middle, and end. Though it doesn’t wrap up everything and the series could have continued in the manner I suggested. Given that the show is two or three years old I doubt that there will be more of it. Though apparently a movie was released just this year so I’ll have to see if I can find and watch that.

Anyway, I’d recommend this one. Short, and a few cliches, but good. Plus it has the main character develop a super weapon and then actually teach other people how to make and use it! Which is fucking unheard of in media of all sorts.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2019 in Anime

 

2 responses to “Anime: Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

  1. Pascoite Fics

    July 1, 2019 at 2:50 pm

    I’m very gradually making my way through a long list of animes that were recommended to me. One I saw recently and would highly recommend is called “Iroduku: The World in Color.” It’s a slow-paced atmospheric character piece, but it’s also only 13 episodes. The premise of it is that a teenage witch’s grandmother sends her into the past (which is present day for us), to when the grandmother was about her age, leaving the girl to figure out why and how to get back.

     
    • Griffin

      July 2, 2019 at 8:49 am

      Hey, that’ll go great with the series of time travel movies I’m watching now. Might have to bump that one up to watch pretty soon.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.