RSS

Pony Stories 82

11 Mar

Work on the giant list of doom continues. Which has led to adding a few titles that are not in my calibre library because they are incomplete or I didn’t feel like keeping them. Most of the pony fan fiction I download and read I keep, even the stuff I didn’t really like, but since I have to manually update a lot of the metadata each time I download the story I have been deleting the incomplete stuff and waiting for the final version. So while I’m adding links to the giant fan fiction list I’m finding reviews for things not on the list, which means I need to add them, which means having to fiddle around to get them properly alphabetized. Keeps me busy anyway. I do like sorting things so it even feels like being productive to find my older reviews and add links going here and there. Also found at least a few posts that had errors in them that I was able to fix.

A Discreet Favor to Her Majesty by device heretic

So, apparently I didn’t actually write down anything when I read this one. Did several searches and apparently the title doesn’t show up anywhere on my blog. So re-read it and it’s still good. Which is great because I wrote that sentence before actually re-reading the story. But yes, this is a really good story. I think it’s the first pony metafiction I read, and as the description promises it is oh so meta. Funny as heck too, assuming you have a decent knowledgebase of the stories and authors it is referencing. I still crack up at the concept that our pony fan fiction is actually tabloid stories in Equestria. On top of that, this story actually also works as a brief character study of Princess Celestia.

The Perfect Gift for a Cellist by Selbi

Huh. The timing on this is kinda perfect. Read this right after posting my dialogue-only snippet of my writing, and this is a dialogue-only pony fanfic. A hilarious pony fanfic. Vinyl Scratch gives Octavia a full size cello made from rubber. A rubber adult-toy cello. My favorite line is just kind of tucked in the middle of the story, you might miss it if you blink, but it is something along the lines of ‘I would sex you right now if we weren’t in public’. Which means that not only did Vinyl give this giant adult rubber cello as a Hearts And Hooves present, but did it in a public place. Short, funny, had me laughing out loud a few times. Even had a teeny-tiny moment of non-comedic emotion tucked in there as well. Then right back to comedy and threats of violence. Do feel that this story really nailed the personalities of, shall we call them the ‘default’ versions, of the two ponies involved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 82

  1. Present Perfect

    March 11, 2014 at 8:04 am

    Wait… That DH fic isn’t in his gallery. Is it unpublished? How’d you find it? c.c I only ask because I recently did a retrospective on his work, and I was under the impression that amounted to 7 stories and no more.

     
    • Griffin

      March 11, 2014 at 1:04 pm

      Huh, that’s odd. The direct link still works, but as you say, it doesn’t show up in his story list. I read it a long time ago, and it’s got plenty of comments from back then, so I doubt it’s unpublished. He might have unlinked it for some reason.

       
    • Professor Whooves

      March 12, 2014 at 12:49 am

      Something might have happened to it when metafiction was banned.

       
      • Griffin

        March 12, 2014 at 6:48 am

        Yep, that would probably be it.

         

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.