RSS

Pony Stories 168

27 Jun

There seems to be another Brony documentary being made. Anyone know anything more about it? Not that I’m that interested in it, didn’t see the other one I’ve heard about after all. Just strikes me as odd that it is a subject that is getting this kind of attention. Once again my baseline for what is weird and what is normal seems to be quite skewed from the norm. I don’t expect documentaries on any of my other interests after all.

The Carousel Boutique Expansion Project by A Fistful of Apples

Huh. That was dark. Not sure why, but going into this I was under the impression this was a light comedy. Whoops. Very well written. Some nitpicks, but the general high quality makes it worth reading. It even feels like MLP to a certain extent. Like the story itself isn’t, but this seems like a possible off-screen series of events if the characters ever escaped the child-friendly rails the show is trapped on.

Swayback Mountain by butterscotchsundae

This isn’t very good. It’s no crime against literature, but it is filled with plenty of bad writing. I wouldn’t recommend this even for big Applejack and Rarity shipping fans.

Shame at the Checkout by nygiants93

Huh. Not really a story for entertainment. Very much a targeted for the fandom (or at least for certain fans) type of deal. Not bad for what it is, the writing seems solid enough. I’ve certainly felt this way at times, so the emotion in the story is realistic enough. Just never really felt that way about buying stuff, even MLP (or just non-standard for my age/gender) items. Still, this is worth a read if you do have those moments of hesitation about letting your fandom show in public.

Daring Do and the Cursed Tome by Abalidoth

I found this kind of sweet. Pokes a bit of fun at fan fiction, well, sort of. Yet the story as a whole paints it in a good light. Plus the last bit was evne more adorable. Random thought: In Equestria are the occult adventure and/or high fantasy books their equivalent of our modern techno-thrillers? Evil magic and prophecy, torn from the headlines!

Spring is Dumb by HoofBitingActionOverload

This is one of the sweetest romance fanfics I’ve read in a while. Great version of Rainbow Dash as well. This is one of the better Rainbow Dash perspective stories I’ve ever read, in fact. Also was a pretty good story about young love. Most fics are about more equal and/or adult relationships (or attempt it) and this one really nailed the worried inexperience on one side of a relationship. Or so I thought. Don’t exactly have much personal experience to judge that sort of thing. Just felt that the emotions came through really strongly.

Sugarfree by Wade

This one is incomplete, sadly. It starts off pretty neat. I would have loved more slice of life stuff before the plot kicked in. Kind of drags in the middle and the current end of it at the moment, though. It kind of feels like the author isn’t sure how to get to the end, so they are just sort of wandering around story-wise until they figure it out. Still, fun bits, some cool worldbuilding, and well-written characters. Once this gets finished it will be one to check out for sure.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pony Stories 168

  1. Present Perfect

    June 27, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Off show-tone and poorly conceived as it might be, I still love the first chapter of Carousel Boutique Expansion Project for being a great adaptation of The Cask of Amontillado and fulfilling my need for over the top Sweetiebuse. :B I’m a bad person.

    As for that documentary, I’m looking forward to it. I only recently watched the first one, and it was… okay, I guess. But this looks like it’s taking a slightly different angle, following Ashleigh Ball, and sounds like it could be more legit.

     
    • bchandler2

      June 27, 2014 at 10:24 am

      I don’t think he’s talking about “A Brony Tale”. That has already been made. I think someone’s making yet another; I can’t remember what it’s called.

       
    • Griffin

      June 27, 2014 at 11:06 am

      Yeah, Carousel Boutique Expansion Project is pretty much as far from the show tone as possible. Still, was pretty good. Just not what I was expecting. The dangers of loading something into my kindle and then forgetting the tags it had.

       
  2. Viking ZX

    June 27, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    Ah, Sugarfree. While it has its weak points, I found it quite enjoyable overall. There are definitely a few spots where it meanders a little bit, but the lore and characters are interesting to play with.

     
    • Griffin

      June 27, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      Yeah, I’m looking forward to how it wraps everything up. Whenever it gets finished in the far future.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.