RSS

Non-Pony Review: Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen

24 Jun

Today we start the non-pony stuff I read during my recent road trip. I’ll probably mix some pony posts in here and there as I read them now that I am back, but should be at least a half-dozen non-pony posts.

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen (The Vorkosigan Saga Book 17) by Lois McMaster Bujold
Proof that a ‘nothing really happens’ romance story works as a short story, but not really as a full novel. She’s a good enough author that I finished it. Yet it was mostly to see if anything actually happens. How things would wrap up at the end was never in doubt if you’ve read a few of her other books. I almost gave up several times, but I’ve enjoyed the Vorkosigan series enough I figured I owed this one at least getting to the end. Which was nice. By the time the end happened I had some involvement and there was actually something that happened at the big birthday that gave a bit of excitement. Overall I was disappointed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2016 in Reading 2016, Reviews

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.