RSS

Pony Stories 248

19 Oct

One of the new site updates that might have slipped under the radar for most people is a slight change to the downloading epubs. Now they include the title image! Woo. No more having to right-click save and attach them manually in Calibre. So I’ve been redownloading the ebooks that I haven’t already tweaked. Which means I have to re-add word counts and star ratings and tags on some of them. Since I can’t remember how I liked all of them this gives me another opportunity to see if I can figure out if I liked a story based on reading my own reviews. What fun! Also, switching to five stories this time. The backlog has gotten a bit large once again.

Necro-Semantics by Wise Cracker

Not bad. Celestia being a lich is kind of a dull idea in itself, but I did like where she is keeping her soul. I actually was thinking it was somewhere else and the story surprised me. Which is always good in a story.

Perks by Donraj

I liked this. Managed to make telling instead of showing work. Pretty much only because it was so short, but it still worked in my opinion. A fairly simple short story that I’d certainly recommend if you want a little nibble of ponyfic between bigger stories.

Storm by kits

The flashback/present switching mostly works. I thought it was a good story. A bit heavy for an episode of the show, but would have made a good two-hour pony disaster movie with just a bit more build up and afterward scenes.

Parenting is Easy, I Swear by Aragon

As a story? Nah, too incoherent. As a bunch of unrelated jokes in succession? Pure comedy gold. About half of the story is constructed out of fragments from the author’s blog on FimFiction. Still funny as heck though. Plus I do so love his version of Night Light. This would have been perfect as a visual thing. The scene changes would have been great if you could actually swoop from one scene to another. Also I rushed into reading this so I missed that it was incomplete. Not that it matters much, it was pretty disconnected as it was so not like I had any idea there would be more from the content of the story.

“THE HOSPITAL IS ACROSS THE DARN STREET!” by Heath of Tragedy

Aww… This wasn’t nearly as long as I was hoping. Just one pony coming in to ask Twilight Sparkle for help. I was hoping for a succession of them, quickly escalating from minor papercuts to life-threatening illnesses. Still, fun little story. aaaand, another incomplete one. So looks like I might be getting that succession of ponies after all. So, um, ignore most of this review since it’s no longer accurate. If it continues how it started, it’ll be a fun story but not a great one.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2014 in Books 2014, Ponies, Reviews

 

4 responses to “Pony Stories 248

  1. Soge Loquy

    October 19, 2014 at 9:03 am

    http://www.fimfiction.net/blog/312242/perfect-fimfiction-epubs-calibre-and-the-fanfiction-download-plugin

    This blog post was great help in sending fics from fimfic to my kindle. It also formats things a bit better than the default Fimfiction download.

     
    • Griffin

      October 19, 2014 at 10:30 am

      Cool. I might have to try it sometime. Though seems a bit involved from a first glance.

       
  2. Aragón

    October 20, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    Wait, you reviewed my story before it was completed? Huh. That’s dedication right there, man.

    It’s complete now, so you can take a peek at the second chapter and… edit this post? I don’t know.

     
    • Griffin

      October 20, 2014 at 4:00 pm

      Hey, I like your stories. Also didn’t see that it was incomplete. Mostly I wrote it up right when I was editing one of these posts so it got slipped in.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.