RSS

Pony Stories 607

09 May

Haven’t seen the new episode yet. I still think the best part of No Second Prances is Princess Celestia. Her obvious annoyance and facial expressions were hilarious. What is also hilarious? This image which is used for the “cover image” on Netflix for the first Equestria Girls movie. It so perfectly captures both Applejack and Pinkie Pie in a single shot. Just look at their expressions.

Screenshot_4

  • The Stolen Date by Titanium Dragon
  • The Sun Also Surprises by kudzuhaiku
  • Let Me Tell You About My Character by Tumbleweed
  • A Stallion for the Time Being by Sharp Spark

The Stolen Date by Titanium Dragon

I shouldn’t be reading the fluffy sweet stuff when I’m so tired my brain isn’t really working. I just can’t think of anything to say about this, and that is totally on my end and not the story’s fault. Seemed quite nice and had a nice look at both Fluttershy and Rainbow Dash. This is kind of why I want to read more long stories. A full novel length story’s experience isn’t shaped by a single mood or state of mind. A short story generally doesn’t have the metaphorical mass to affect a brain to the same extent as a longer work, so the reader’s mental state is much more responsible for the level of enjoyment.

The Sun Also Surprises by kudzuhaiku

A nice romantic story. I liked the Celestia we see here. Princess Cadance’s is also on good display. Writing not perfect, but not bad enough to get more than this one mention. I find it odd that Cadance finds such a perfect match. Sure, in a whole kingdom it might be possible, and the epilogue reveals that it wasn’t entirely random, it still feels a bit like authorial decree rather than organic storytelling. Still a nice story about Celestia finding love and being forced to take a good look at herself. Also, Cadance uses a marshmallow metaphor as innuendo when telling Princess Celestia she had a crush on her growing up.

Let Me Tell You About My Character by Tumbleweed

Well, it made me jealous of something fictional. That even if it was real I wouldn’t be involved with thanks to my social anxiety glitches. Anyway, not really connected to the previous stories by this author. Also in that weird narrow category if not rally point, but not really hindered by it. Character based slice of life in the Equestria Girls universe doesn’t have a lot of pony in it to begin. Yet the story has plenty of thematic friendship goodness and gets the characters solidly. So your mileage may vary, but I enjoyed it for what it was.

A Stallion for the Time Being by Sharp Spark

Minuette and time magic is one of the more niche fandom concepts, but I’ve always enjoyed it. Mostly because I really like time travel stories. This was a very silly story with a sweet ending. I quite liked it and plan to go tight to the sequel. Twilight in particular was very much, well, very much Twilight.

 
 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.